JOIN THE CONVERSATION

Goodbye, Heroes of Armantia and Koji Villagers

Armantia和Koji村的大門即將關閉。 就目前而言。

我們的首席執行官兼工作室負責人田村浩二的一封信:

阿曼蒂亞和Koji村民的英雄,

2022年5月29日,我處於停滯狀態,不確定在遊戲行業該去哪裏,但我知道我想創辦自己的公司。 我正在建立一個工作室,我們目前的股東在最後審查後問我一個問題,但在我回答之前阻止了我。 他說:"在我加入之前,我想要一個誠實的答案。 我同意了。 "你很擅長你的工作,但我聽說你不聽老闆的話,總是做副業。 "這是真的嗎 ? "

我想了想這個問題,立即回答。 "我不知道我是否擅長我的工作,老實說,我從來沒有和任何老闆說過不聽。 我一直試圖通過爲自己和我認爲公司應該走的方向來獲得結果。 是的,我一直想做副項目,但那是因爲我想成爲一個一次可以做多個項目的人,但我還沒有能力做到這一點。 即使我晝夜工作,也只有一個項目對我來說太過分了。 我記得告訴他,在他說什麼之前,我完成了我的最後一句話,"我是一個有很多敵人的人,但這不會阻止我。 就在那時,我們決定一起創辦公司。

我花了整整一個月的六月尋找辦公空間,電腦和辦公桌,因爲我想讓球滾動,儘快開始。 這對我來說是一條新的道路,我想盡我所能。 我記得那是一段非常忙碌的時間,但我非常高興。 這是我的第一家公司。 我們有很多開發人員來幫我搬所有的行李,安裝電腦,互聯網,甚至冰箱。 我記得開發商帶來了花盆和咖啡壺。 我非常高興,夢想着新的開始。

7月,挑戰者遊戲公司正式成立,我開始計劃我們的第一個遊戲,項目B。

這款遊戲並不是真的打算成爲一款賺錢遊戲,也不是許多潛在投資者感興趣的P2E遊戲。 我一直對P2E遊戲持懷疑態度,說實話,我不想製作它們。 即使我要製作它們,我也希望我製作的遊戲值得在主要市場上發行。 我最初認爲Project B將是一個SRPG(戰術角色扮演遊戲),但它感覺不對。 真正激發項目B創作的遊戲被稱爲Spellbreaker。

當我創辦公司時,我遇到了很多挑戰。 第一個是藝術團隊。 是的,團隊現在對藝術品很好,但當時沒有藝術團隊。 畢竟,這家公司是一家初創公司,沒有人真正感興趣。

我在論壇、工作板和其他任何地方搜索了遊戲開發人才庫。 我請求並請求我的同事介紹我。

他們每個人開始成長,讓熟悉,讓熟悉,真正酷的團隊。

公司最初的运营战略是双线发展。 其战略是,通过1号线的外包开发确保资金,并在2号线开发主力游戏。 无论应用程序和游戏如何,我都试图通过外包来开发它们。 通过外包开发,我们收到了3个应用程序的订单,开发并获得了收益。

但是原以爲每個應用程序需要1~2個月,但實際上需要3~4個月左右的時間,而且因爲是遊戲公司,所以開發應用程序是有負擔的。

在60億韓元規模的遊戲外包有2個左右進展的情況下,與大股東們討論了是否可以不集中於其他項目或應用程序,只專注於B項目進行開發。 在他們的許可下,我們能夠專注於項目B,我們最終將其重命名爲第二波。

不知何故,奇蹟般地,我能夠在如此短的時間內達到如此多的里程碑。 我最初的目標是在2023年底之前讓遊戲能夠早期訪問,但我們有一個開發大約3個月的工作原型,6個月後有一個可玩的版本,大約3個月後有一個alpha和beta版本。 真是不可思議。

2022年11月,我們完成了原型,並將其帶到G-Star。

我給G-Star帶了一個演示,但我把它做成了一個控制檯版本並隨身攜帶,這使得它很難顯示,因爲我必須在我的遊戲盤上播放它。 它似乎得到了很多人的關注,但它只是一個原型演示,核心元素還沒有完成。 所以即使人們感興趣,這對他們來說也不是一個非常有趣的演示。 我最終失去了與那些有興趣嘗試它的人的聯繫,因爲它變得越來越發達。

當我們擁有可玩的版本時,對我們感興趣的出版商經常告訴我們,他們只能在PC版本的情況下測試它,或者在移動版本出來時與我們聯繫。 所以我們製作了PC版本和移動版本,並立即將它們發送出去,希望得到最好的結果。

我當時不知道這是他們對我們說不的方式。

我們被邀請參加GDC,並與我們在G-STAR遇到的經理進行了溝通。 在GDC期間,有720名玩家回覆了我們的調查。 至少很多人都感興趣。 幫助我們完成演示的人最後對我說:"Koji,我做了很多遊戲演示,但我認爲從來沒有一款遊戲像挑戰者一樣好。 這肯定會奏效的!"

GDC是一個很好的經驗,給了我們信心。 我們立即準備了Alpha測試,看看我們正在做的事情是否正確,方向是否正確。

我承認Alpha測試收到了很多批評和反饋,但至少有4000名玩家前來測試,儘管第二波最終獲得了"Genshin Watch"的綽號,但並沒有得到很好的評價。

自2023年1月以來,我們一直在開會討論如何改進遊戲。 這個想法是爲了保持遊戲的核心樂趣,但困難隨之而來。 因爲隨着會議的進行,很難解決已經做的一切。 當我不斷製作和重做東西時,人們變得非常疲憊,動力也減少了。

我們希望這將是一個通過相互分享反饋來成長的時刻。

2023年6月19日,它成功吸引了額外的投資。 獲得了約40億韓元的追加投資。

我們決定把所有的錢都用於開發,因爲錢很稀缺。 我們沒有節省任何開發成本。 我們沒有省下任何配音演員的費用。

2023年8月23日,我參加了在韓國聯合館舉行的遊戲通信。 我們帶來了第二波,似乎很多人都對遊戲感興趣和興奮。

從2023年10月6日至10月16日,我們參加了Steam Next Fest並跟進測試版。

在測試的第一天,出現了玩家無法匹配的問題,然後是另一個問題,幀率因某種原因下降,然後是另一個問題,加載屏幕不會停止加載……問題似乎並沒有停止。

在10月11日的測試期間,我熬夜修復,測試,修復和測試問題。 我無法解決匹配問題,但幸運的是,如果我繼續匹配,它會匹配並進入遊戲。 延遲問題尚未解決,即使在早期訪問中也是如此。

Even in this state, many users enjoyed playing the game and said it was fun. It was a beta test with a lot of things missing, but a lot of people were excited and encouraged me. I received a lot of feedback, and I was sure that solving the tasks I received at that time would make a great game.

但是以那個β爲開端,公司陷入了困境,我們已經負債20億韓元,因此需要追加投資。

雪上加霜的是,藝術團隊出現了分裂,整個動畫團隊都離開了公司。 我們不得不通過僱傭一個新的動畫團隊來繼續開發。 我必須找到一種方法來克服這種情況……

我們有一個自己的內部項目,叫做項目I,當時大約有兩個人正在研究RnD。 我想擴大這個項目,這樣我就可以自己賺錢,自立,而無需任何額外投資。 Project I最初應該在2024年2月進行alpha測試,4月進行beta測試,然後進行Early Access測試。 我的目標是在三個月內完成開發和維護遊戲。 我想同時與Nintendo Switch,Google和Apple進行交叉遊戲。

當時,我們團隊中有大約70名成員,大約50%的團隊在2023年11月至2024年1月期間加入。

因此,2024年2月8日,iLLANG在Apple Store上發佈。

不幸的是,iLANG沒有工作。 由於服務器問題,我從第一天開始無法玩遊戲本身,我們試圖修復服務器代碼一個多月,但問題不斷惡化。 日程安排問題也不斷出現,最終我們得出結論,我們需要重建遊戲。

僅iLLANG的AWS服務器費用就達7100萬韓元。 雖然是100人左右的遊戲,但由於服務器費用太高,所以無法應對。 我們在4月份開始進行長期審查,目前仍在審查中。

到2024年1月,該公司已經用完了資金,我們的困難因無法在尋找更多投資者時爲iLLANG創造銷售而加劇。

在iLLANG於2024年推出之前支持它的出版商和投資者也開始表現出最小的興趣。

在2月份的公司會議上,我告訴所有員工,銀行賬戶中沒有餘額,我可能無法支付2月份的最後一份工資。 但仍有希望。

2024年3月,爲第二波早期接入做準備的問題再次出現。 我認爲,如果沒有第二波的進展,在這種狀態下進行早期訪問將是一種自殺行爲。

當時,對第二波的唯一改進是角色動畫,UI更新,背景藝術和其他一些小修復。 這些元素看起來很有趣,但缺乏完整性。

我們做了很多RnD,通過在IK和完全動畫切換中添加運動匹配,使它們看起來更好。 我們還開始開發死計算技術來解決滯後問題。

另外,SEA和SIE地區的出版社已經確定,因此決定追加尋找北美、歐洲、日本、韓國等出版社。

在拖欠工資開始的3月份,球隊的焦慮感越來越大,但他們相信我們會在4月底之前完成。

到4月,所有已知的遊戲發行商都完成了他們對第二波的審查,最終在沒有繼續出版合同的情況下放棄了我們。

我聯繫信用保證基金和技術保證基金,到銀行貸款,盡我所能。 我被介紹給所有的投資,然後繼續前進,但最終被拒絕了。

我認爲如果沒有北美和歐洲的出版合同,就不可能開發第二波。 我告訴SEA和SIE的出版商,我不能簽署合同,我爲早期訪問道歉。 我無法發展承諾的質量,因此無法簽署合同。

2024年4月底,我們開始爲早期訪問準備第二波。 開發人員數量從2024年1月的90人減少到2024年5月的30人,其中20名開發人員創建了Early Access。

到2024年4月底,我們正在大力推動發展。 添加和開發了很多東西,但我們無法在現場版本中添加任何東西。

最後,我們抓住了我們所能做的,做了儘可能多的測試。 VS AI和訓練模式都沒有準備好或足夠好,但我們不得不嘗試。 沒有現金商店,沒有物品商店。 我們設法在5月底前完成。

我們無法再爲 JIRA 支付費用了,因此我們轉而跟蹤 Notion 網站上的 bug。 在此期間,我們的20名成員每天都會進行測試、開發和測試。

我們盡我們所能。

最初,Early Access將在沒有任何我們正在修復和添加的東西的情況下發生,但我們做到了,即使如此,它也不穩定。 我們盡力了。

如果我們能夠達到目標的第2階段,我們肯定認爲我們可以展望未來。 我們已經與Xbox進行了交談,並認爲我們可以按照最初的計劃在Xbox Game Pass上獲得遊戲,這至少可以支付開發成本。

因此,我們在2024年5月31日發佈了第二波的早期訪問版本。

在發佈後的第一個小時內,我們收到了絕大多數的負面評論,這次不僅僅是因爲配對,還因爲有時遊戲甚至不會開始,我們花了一整天的時間檢查服務器代碼。

隨着服務器問題在一定程度上穩定下來,我們開始發現更多的問題。 角色不會因爲目標改變而受到打擊的問題,或者魔法傷害加倍的問題。 如果我們正確地執行QA,通常會有很多問題無法解決。 但由於沒有QA團隊,特別是在我們剩下的20人中,所有這些問題都被球員看到和發現,他們並不太高興。 我不怪他們。

我想給大家展示一款非常酷的免費遊戲,但它只被視爲"付費測試"遊戲,這讓我非常難過。

在我們推出Early Access之後,我們想讓它免費。 其餘的人都聚集在一起討論這件事。 我們認爲,如果我們一起更新死亡清算並使其免費,反應會再次更好。 遊戲的樂趣就在那裏。 我原以爲如果我們能解決服務器問題會有希望。

不幸的是,發展沒有繼續下去。 它還沒有完成。 老實說,在這一點上,我認爲它將在6月25日之前完成,但我認爲我們甚至不能包括它,因爲爲時已晚。

由於服務器無法償還,我們認爲,如果無論如何都能償還6月份的債務,那麼7100萬韓元將接近1億韓元,再加上尚未結算的廣告或營銷費用2000萬韓元,拖欠工資和退休金等4大保險費。 2024年1、2月大股東的投資額最高可達8.25億韓元。

目前負債約爲24億韓元。

該公司的賬戶已被四大保險公司扣押,我們從4月開始接受勞動就業部的調查。

我在6月2日至9日期間無法支付AWS費用,因爲亞馬遜鎖定了我們的帳戶,我們無法再更新任何東西。 從5月20日到6月2日,AWS的費用已經達到了1000萬韓元。

我擔心第二波將不幸的是無法在7月份繼續,因爲坦率地說,我們絕對沒有錢支付服務器費用,最終服務器將關閉。

6月7日,我拼命地試圖通過出售我們從開發人員那裏獲得的所有PC來支付服務器費用。 但是當我賣掉電腦的那一刻,它被保險公司沒收了。 我不能用公司信用卡付款。 這一切看起來很嚴峻,邦,或者你知道他是Koobric,最終用他自己的信用卡支付。 謝謝你的勇氣和奉獻精神,我很抱歉。

是的,修復一些問題花了很長時間,比如 Michaela 的問題,並且有這樣的積壓,但直到 6 月 9 日,AWS 才解鎖了我們的帳戶。

自2024年3月以來,我們所有的團隊一直在無償工作,希望創造奇蹟。 我想讓遊戲取得成功,但我向所有人道歉,因爲我不能這樣做。 對於拖欠的工資,我也深感責任重大。 我會找到一種方法來支付每個人。

但不管發生了什麼,不管我們如何來到這裏,我都不爲這種經歷感到羞恥。 我很自豪能夠創造第二波,自豪和榮幸能夠與我擁有的團隊合作。 我爲我們在創建Challengers Games和Second Wave期間的所有感受感到自豪。 我很自豪我們至少試過了。

但現在是挑戰者遊戲承認它不再能夠做生意的時候了。

這是非常困難和悲傷的,但我想說的是,這不是第二波的最後一章。 你有可能在不久的將來再次看到它。 一種或另一種方式。 我們將重新開始,當我們準備好時,我們將宣佈事情。

就目前而言,我想給你們所有這些來自我們的信息,以便你們瞭解情況,並能夠在服務器突然停止之前爲第二波的結束做好準備。

關閉和解散事宜將與股東討論,我認爲會根據結果進行,但第二波從6月24日開始不再運營,挑戰者遊戲也將隨之關閉。

退款將由 Steam 提供,因爲我們將與他們聯繫,以幫助我們處理此過程,因爲遊戲將不再可用。 我們預計這個過程會很順利,因爲我們還沒有從第二波中獲得任何收入。 如果我們有任何新的信息要分享,我們將在關閉前對 Discord 進行共享。

Discord服務器將於2024年7月開始關閉,玩家將不再訪問。

我們真的對不起所有支持我們,支持我們,支持我們的人。 感謝您對我們的信任,並抱歉讓您失望。 這不是我們的最後道路,但這是挑戰者遊戲公司的最後篇章。

感謝您一直支持我們,並讓我們再次相信遊戲開發。

谢谢你们,再见英雄们。

Koji Tamura and Challengers Games Corp.

Scroll to top

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

Goodbye, Heroes of Armantia and Koji Villagers

The Gates of Armantia and Koji Village Are Closing... For Now.

A Letter from our CEO and Studio Head, Koji Tamura:

Heroes of Armantia and Koji Villagers,

On May 29, 2022, I was at a standstill, unsure where to go in the game industry, but I knew I wanted to start my own company. I was setting up a studio, and our current shareholder asked me a question after the final review, but stopped me before I could answer. He said, “Before I join, I want an honest answer.” I agreed. “You’re so good at your job, but I’ve heard that you don’t listen to your bosses and always end up doing side projects. Is that true?”

I thought about the question and answered immediately. “I don’t know if I’m good at my job, and to be honest, I’ve never talked to any of my bosses about not listening. I’ve always tried to get results by thinking for myself and the direction I think the company should go. Yes, it’s true that I always want to do side projects, but that’s because I want to be a person who can do more than one project at a time, but I just don’t have the ability to do that yet. Even if I work day and night, just one project is too much for me.” I remember telling him that, and before he said anything else, I finished with my last words, “I’m someone who has a lot of enemies, but that won’t stop me.” That was when we decided to start the company together.

I spent the whole month of June looking for an office space, computers and desks because I wanted to get the ball rolling and get started as soon as possible. It was a new path for me and I wanted to do my best. I remember it was a very hectic time, but I was very happy. It was my first company. We had a lot of developers who came and helped me carry all the luggage and install the computers, the Internet, and even the refrigerators. I remember the developers bringing flower pots and coffee makers. I was very happy and dreamed of a new beginning.

In July, Challengers Games Corp. was officially formed, and I began planning our first game, Project B.

The game was not really intended to be a money-making game, nor a P2E game that many potential investors were interested in. I’ve always been skeptical about P2E games, and to be honest, I don’t want to make them. Even if I were to make them, I wanted the games I made to be worthy of being released on the main market. I originally thought Project B would be an SRPG (Tactical Roleplaying Game), but it didn’t feel right. The game that actually inspired the creation of Project B was called Spellbreaker.

There were a lot of challenges when I started the company. The first was the art team. Yes, the team is great with the artwork now, but back then there was no art team. After all, the company was a startup and no one was really interested.

I searched the game development talent pool on forums, job boards, and everywhere else. I asked and begged my colleagues to introduce me.

As each one of them began to grow and bring their acquaintances, a really cool team was formed.

The initial operational strategy of the company was two-line development. The strategy was to secure funding by outsourcing development in line 1, and to develop the main game in line 2. Regardless of applications and games, I tried to develop them with outsourcing. Through outsourcing development, we received orders for three applications and developed them and made profits.

However, I thought one to two months per application, but it actually took about three to four months, and it was a burden to develop an application because it was a game company.

At a time when there were about two developments in the outsourcing of games worth 6 billion won, we discussed with major shareholders whether we could focus and develop only Project B without focusing on any other project or application. With their permission, we were able to focus on Project B, which we eventually renamed to Second Wave.

Somehow, miraculously, I was able to hit so many milestones in such a short amount of time. My original goal was to have the game in early access by the end of 2023, but we had a working prototype about 3 months into development, a playable build 6 months later, and an alpha and beta about 3 months after that. It was incredible.

In November 2022, we finished the prototype and took it to G-Star.

I brought a demo to G-Star, but I made it into a console version and brought it with me, which made it difficult to show because I had to play it on my gamepad. It seemed to get a lot of attention from people, but it was just a prototype demo, and the core element was not finished yet. So even though people were interested, it wasn’t a very fun demo for them. I ended up losing contact with people who were interested in trying it as it got more and more developed.

Publishers who were interested in us when we had the playable build often told us that they could only test it if it was a PC version, or to get back to us when the mobile version came out. So we made the PC version and the mobile version and sent them out right away, hoping for the best.

I didn’t know at the time that this was their way of saying no to us.

We were invited to the GDC and communicated with a manager we met at G-STAR. During our time at the GDC, 720 players responded to our survey. That many people were at least interested. The people who helped us with our demo said to me at the very end, “Koji, I’ve worked on a lot of game demos, but I don’t think there’s ever been a game as good as what Challengers has. This is definitely going to work!”

GDC was a really good experience and gave us confidence. We prepared the Alpha Test right away to see if what we were doing was right and in the right direction.

I admit that the Alpha Test received a lot of criticism and feedback, but at least 4,000 players came and tested it, and even though Second Wave ended up getting the nickname “Genshin Watch,” it did not get a very good review.

Since January 2023, we’ve been having meetings about how to improve the game. The idea was to keep the core fun of the game, but the difficulty came with that. Because as the meetings went on, it was difficult to fix everything that had been made. As I kept making and redoing things, people got very tired and less motivated.

We hoped it would be a time to grow by sharing feedback with each other.

On June 19, 2023, it successfully attracted additional investment. It received an additional investment of about 4 billion won.

We decided to put all the money we got into development because money was scarce. We didn’t spare any of the development costs. We didn’t spare any of the voice actor costs.

On August 23, 2023, I attended Gamescom at the Korean Joint Hall. We brought Second Wave, and it seemed that so many people were interested and excited about the game.

From October 6 to October 16, 2023, we participated in the Steam Next Fest and followed up with the beta.

On the first day of the beta test, there were problems where players couldn’t matchmake, and then there was another problem where the frame rate dropped for some reason, and then there was another problem where the loading screens wouldn’t stop loading… the problems didn’t seem to stop.

During the beta period on October 11th, I stayed up all night fixing, testing, fixing, and testing the problem. I couldn’t solve the matching problem, but fortunately, if I kept matching, it would match and go into the game. The lag problem has not been fixed, even now in Early Access.

Even in this state, many users enjoyed playing the game and said it was fun. It was a beta test with a lot of things missing, but a lot of people were excited and encouraged me. I received a lot of feedback, and I was sure that solving the tasks I received at that time would make a great game.

However, starting with that beta, the company was in trouble, and we were already 2 billion won in debt, so we needed additional investment.

To make matters worse, there was a split in the art team, and the entire animation team left the company. We had to continue development by hiring a new animation team. I had to find a way to get through this situation…

We had our own internal project called Project I, where about two people were working on RnD at the time. I wanted to expand that project so that I could make money on my own and stand on my own without any additional investment. Project I was originally supposed to have an alpha test in February 2024, a beta test in April, and then Early Access. My goal was to complete development and maintain the game within three months. I wanted to cross-play with Nintendo Switch, Google, and Apple at the same time.

At that time, we had about 70 members in the team, and about 50% of the team joined between November 2023 and January 2024.

So on February 8, 2024, iLLANG was released on the Apple Store.

Unfortunately, iLLANG didn’t work. I couldn’t play the game itself from day one due to server problems, and we tried to fix the server code for over a month, but the problem kept getting worse. The scheduling issue also kept coming up, and eventually we came to the conclusion that we needed to rebuild the game.

The cost of the AWS server for iLLANG alone was 71 million won. It was a game for about 100 people, but the server cost was too high, so I couldn’t handle it. We started a long-term review in April and are still reviewing it.

By January 2024, the company had already run out of money, and our difficulties were compounded by the inability to generate sales for iLLANG while seeking additional investors.

Publishers and investors who had supported iLLANG prior to its launch in 2024 also began to show minimal interest.

At the February company meeting, I informed all employees that there was no balance in the bank account and that I might not be able to pay the last of the February salaries. But there was still hope.

In March 2024, the question of preparing for Early Access for Second Wave came up again. I thought it would be suicidal to do Early Access in this state without the progress of Second Wave.

At the time, the only improvements to Second Wave were character animations, UI updates, background art, and a few other small fixes. These were elements that looked fun, but lacked completeness.

We did a lot of RnD to make them look even better by adding motion matching to the IK and full animation switching. We also started developing dead reckoning techniques to solve the lag problem.

In addition, since the publisher for the SEA and SIE regions had already been decided, it was decided that we should look for additional publishers, including North America, Europe, Japan, and Korea.

In March, when the wage arrears began, the team’s anxiety grew, but they believed we would make it by the end of April.

By April, all of the known game publishers had completed their review of Second Wave and eventually dropped us without proceeding with the publishing contract.

I contacted the Korea Credit Guarantee Fund and the Korea Technology Guarantee Fund, went to the bank to borrow money, and did everything I could. I was introduced to all the investments and went ahead, but in the end it was rejected.

I thought it would be impossible to develop Second Wave without a North American and European publishing contract. I informed the publishers of SEA and SIE that I could not sign a contract, and I apologized for doing Early Access. I could not develop the promised quality and therefore could not sign a contract.

At the end of April 2024, we started to prepare Second Wave for Early Access. The number of developers was reduced from 90 in January 2024 to 30 in May 2024, and the Early Access was created by 20 of these developers.

By the end of April 2024, we were pushing development hard. So many things were added and developed, but we could not add anything to put into the live version.

In the end, we grabbed what we could and did as much testing as we could. Neither the versus AI nor the training mode was ready or good enough to put in, but we had to try. There was no cash shop, no item shop. We managed to get it done by the end of May.

We couldn’t pay for JIRA anymore, so we switched to tracking bugs on our Notion site. During this time, our 20 members tested, developed and tested, every single day.

We did everything we could.

Originally, Early Access was going to happen without any of the things we were fixing and adding, but we made it, and even then it wasn’t stable. We did our best.

If we could get to stage 2 of our goals, we definitely thought we could look forward to the future. We had already talked to Xbox and figured we could get the game on Xbox Game Pass as originally planned, which would at least cover the cost of development.

So we released the Early Access version of Second Wave on May 31, 2024.

Within the first hour of its release, we received overwhelmingly negative reviews, and this time it wasn’t just because of the matchmaking, but also because sometimes the game wouldn’t even start, and we spent the whole day and night checking the server code.

As the server issues stabilized to some degree, we began to discover even more problems. Issues where characters weren’t getting hit because of aiming changes, or issues where magic damage was doubling. There were a lot of issues that wouldn’t normally go live if we were doing QA properly. But because there was no QA team, especially among our remaining 20 people, all these issues were seen and found by the players, and they were not very happy. I don’t blame them.

I wanted to show you a really cool game that was free, but it was only seen as a “pay-to-test” game, which made me very sad.

After we launched Early Access, we thought about making it free. All the remaining people got together to discuss it. We thought that if we updated Dead Reckoning together and made it free, the response would be better again. The fun of the game was there. I expected that there would be hope if we could fix the server problems.

Unfortunately, development did not continue. It’s still not finished. To be honest, at this point I think it would be finished by June 25, but I don’t think we can even include it because it’s too late.

The servers could not be paid, and we thought that if we could somehow pay the June debt, that 71 million won would be closer to 100 million won, plus another 20 million won for advertising or marketing that has not been settled, and four major insurance premiums for unpaid wages and severance pay. Up to 825 million won in investments from major shareholders in January and February 2024.

Currently, there is a debt of about 2.4 billion won.

The company’s accounts have been seized by the four major insurance companies, and we have been under investigation by the Ministry of Labor and Employment since April.

I was unable to pay for AWS between June 2-9, as Amazon locked our account, and we could no longer update anything. The cost from AWS from May 20 until June 2 was already 10 million won.

I’m afraid that Second Wave will unfortunately not be able to continue in July, because quite frankly, we have absolutely no money to pay for the servers, and ultimately the servers will end up shutting down.

On June 7, I desperately tried to pay for the servers by selling off all of the PCs that we had from the developers that had left. But the moment I sold the computers, it was confiscated by the insurance companies. I could not pay with a company credit card. Where it all looked grim, Bon, or as you know him as Koobric, ended up paying for it with his own credit card. Thank you Bon for your courage and dedication, and I’m so sorry.

Yes, it took a very long time to fix some issues, like the one with Michaela, and there was such a backlog, but it wasn’t until June 9 that AWS unlocked our account.

Since March 2024, all of our teams have been working without pay, hoping for a miracle. I wanted to make the game a success, but I apologize to everyone for not being able to do so. I also feel a heavy responsibility for the overdue wages. I will find a way to pay everyone.

But regardless of what happened and how we got here, I am not ashamed of this experience. I am proud to have created Second Wave, proud and honored to have worked with the team I had. I’m proud of all the feelings we had during the time we were creating Challengers Games and Second Wave. I’m proud that we at least tried.

But now it is time for Challengers Games to acknowledge that it is no longer able to do business.

It is incredibly difficult and sad, but what I want to say is that this is not the final chapter for Second Wave. It is possible that you will see it again in the near future. One way or another. We will start over and we will announce things when we are ready.

For now, I wanted to give you all this message from us so that you know the situation and can prepare for the end of Second Wave before the servers suddenly stop.

The closure and dissolution will be discussed with the shareholders, and I think it will be based on the results, but Second Wave will no longer operate as of June 24th, and Challengers Games will be closed accordingly.

Refunds will be provided by Steam as we are reaching out to them to help us with the process as the game will no longer be available. We anticipate a smooth process as we have not taken any revenue from Second Wave. If we have any new information to share, we will do so on Discord prior to the shutdown.

The Discord server will be closed starting July 2024 and will no longer be accessible to players.

We are truly sorry to absolutely everyone who has been there for us, rooting for us, supporting us. Thank you for believing in us and sorry for letting you down. This is not the final road for us, but it is the final chapter for Challengers Games Corp.

Thank you for always being there for us and for making us believe in game development again.

Thank you, and Goodbye Heroes.

Koji Tamura and Challengers Games Corp.

Scroll to top